Christmas Day at Polihale Beach

On Christmas Day Eric and I decided to go to Polihale Beach before exploring Waimea Canyon. Polihale is an extraordinarily beautiful and uncrowded beach on Kaua’i’s isolated west side. It is known for its 17 mile stretch of golden sand and hot, cloudless days. You can see the beginning cliffs of Na Pali from the northern end of the beach. I thought it was one of the loveliest places I have ever been.

For the ancient Hawai’ians Polihale was the site of a heiau (temple) from which they believed the souls of the dead departed for Po, the underworld.

The trip to Polihale involves 5 miles down a sandy road which is not suitable for 2-wheel-drive vehicles. We had to assist a group in a sedan which became stuck in the sand. Here are some photos from that day:

Polihale Beach, Kauai

Polihale Beach, Kauai

Polihale Beach, Kauai

Polihale Beach, Kauai

Polihale Beach, Kauai

Polihale Beach, Kauai

I purposely over-exposed a few photos to try to duplicate the effect of a beach painting. What do you think of the result?

Polihale Beach, Kauai

9 Comments

Filed under Kauai beach

9 responses to “Christmas Day at Polihale Beach

  1. Lisa Salt

    Stunning! Gorgeous beach, just how I like it……no crowds! I love the ‘painting’ effect, looks great :)

    • It’s an amazing beach and pretty inaccessible, which explains the lack of crowds. I’m happy you like the over-exposure. I liked it, and I was curious to see if others would too.

  2. Beautious! I like the painting photo. The video made me feel like I was there. Thanks for sending me some beach.

    • Thanks Lovely Dawn. it’s the time of year when we can all use more beach! I’m becoming very fond of wave videos, as you can see. I like the over-exposure, but I wasn’t sure what other people would think. I appreciate your comment! xoxox

  3. Cindy

    Thank you for the wave action..soothing..Lovely empty beach..warm, with sun. The over-exposure emphasizes the sun-soaked scene..

    • Thank you for your comments Cindy. Wish you could be here. It truly is paradise. Tomorrow I’m going to take everyone snorkeling with me. I remembered that my little underwater camera has a video function. :-)

  4. Terri

    lovely no matter which way you shoot it. the skies are blue like Nm, but oh the water….bring it all back with you, Linda:-)

  5. Pingback: Birding Sandia Crest near Albuquerque, NM

Leave a Reply

