Turtles on Tuesday-Painted Turtles

“Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone; The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land.”

Painted Turtle

Painted Turtle

Painted Turtles

Painted Turtles sunning on a log.

Painted Turtle.

Painted Turtle, a fine rear view.

Painted Turtles

Colorful Painted Turtles on a log.

[tweetmeme source=”LRockwellatty” only_single=false]

7 Comments

Filed under Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge

7 responses to “Turtles on Tuesday-Painted Turtles

  1. Wonderful shots of basking turtles! Seeing such groups sunning always brigns a smile to my face.

  2. Scott

    Love the turtles and your photos. When I see a wild turtle, it always seems exotic, as turtles are something we don’t have here. That’s a nice spring quotation. I had to check a reference to see why it spake of “the voice of the turtle”. It’s literal for the Turtle Dove.

    • I love turtles too. Always makes me happy to see them. I yes, I know it isn’t quite a fit, but it’s such a pretty quote! It was the best one I could find for turtles, and I love the mental image of a turtle voice.🙂

  3. I love the way they bunch up together … friendship🙂

  4. Colourful creatures. The colour reminds me of some kind of snake (rat snake?). Good pics.

Leave a Reply

