A Sunday Bike Ride in the Bosque

It was a beautiful weekend in New Mexico. I went for a bike ride on both Saturday and Sunday. On Saturday I forgot to take my camera with me, but I remembered it on Sunday. These photos were taken with a little Canon point-and-shoot that fits in my biking jersey pocket.

After I had finished my serious riding I detoured into the Aldo Leopold Forest Area near the Rio Grande Nature Center. There were many Wilson’s Warblers in the trees near the river and I saw a Green-tailed Towhee in the underbrush, but my little camera was not up to the task of photographing small, active birds. Fortunately this Western Fence Lizard posed for me on an old fallen cottonwood.

Western Fence Lizard


Western Fence Lizard, Another Look


Afterwards I walked through the Rio Grande Nature Center where I saw turtles, Mallards and Canada Geese at the Nature Center blind.

Turtles and a Mallard, Rio Grande Nature Center


There were quite a few Black-chinned Hummingbirds at the Nature Center feeders. I was very happy to be able to get a few decent images with the point and shoot.

Black-chinned Hummingbirds, Rio Grande Nature Center


Female Black-chinned Hummingbird, Rio Grande Nature Center


As I rode back along Rio Grande Boulevard I saw literally thousands of little yellow Clouded Sulphur butterflies in an alfalfa field.

Clouded Sulphur Butterfly


The sight of all the little butterflies was so lovely that I took a slightly shaky point-and-shoot video of them.

43 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, Butterflies, Lizards, Turtles

43 responses to “A Sunday Bike Ride in the Bosque

  1. Robert A. Stallings

    Ms. Rockwell,

    Great photos! Thanks for taking and especially for posting. Your rides are more scenic than mine here in the eastern San Gabriel Valley of Los Angeles County: http://bobstallings.blogspot.com/2010/09/sunday-morning-ride.html

  2. GREAT wildlife shots…especially the hummingbird and the turtles (I love turtles haha)

    http://www.denwrites.com

  3. Hi there,

    Just like to say that the shot of the Hummingbird is fantastic as is the one of the lizard. What kind of camera are you using?

  4. Absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Love the wildlife pictures. The lizards reminded me of the ones we used to catch in Western Nebraska when we were kids.

  6. I love that nature center and that whole region along the Rio Grande. The last time I was there I was trying to kill some time on a business trip before heading to the airport – just a few days before Christmas when the shadows were really long. I wrote this poem:

    When the sun hits the snow
    on the side of the road
    waking painted-up houses
    and story-telling people
    I walk in the bosque with all the blown leaves
    the winter is breathing and sleeping the trees
    the summer is a memory
    within swimming gray geese
    when the sun hits the snow
    along that new mexico road

  7. Samantha

    Ah, I love the Bosque! I live up in the foothills and it’s lovely to get away from the mountains and down near the river… minus the mosquitos though.

  8. Nice pics. I especially love the closeup of the hummingbird. Your butterfly video is nice, but must have been amazing in person, I love butterflies! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    evelyngarone.com

    • Thanks so much. The butterflies were one of the prettiest things I’ve ever seen. I post many photos on my birding blog taken with a “real” camera. Funny that the Freshly Pressed would come from a point & shoot blog post. . .

  9. I’d like to live where you live!

  10. Sounds and looks like an amazing place…oh, to be a turtle basking in the sunshine…

  11. Great shots! Loved the hummingbird. Great action capture.

  12. Modern Funk

    I love your lizards and hummingbirds! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Lizards and turtles and birds, oh my!

    Very cool pics. I always love hummingbird and butterfly photos.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  14. Thank you..really informative!!

  15. Pit

    Absolutely phantastic pictures. I’ll certainly return to this blog quite frequently to enjoy more. And also read about bike rides.
    Best regards from southern Texas,
    Pit
    http://pitsbilderbuch.wordpress.com/
    http://pitsbicycleblog.wordpress.com/

  16. I miss bike rides! Haven’t been on one since I was 8, I think? Anyhoo, I love the photos! Great work.

    http://hollywoodremedy.wordpress.com/

  17. I love biking, hummingbirds and butterflies as well–great post.

  18. Sunflowerdiva

    Wow, these photos are amazing! Sounds like you had a fun time! Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed! :)

  19. I also have a canon sd800 IS–those little canons take great pics as you have shown here. Congratulations on the Freshly Pressed.

  20. Looks like a fantastic time of exploration. Nicely done with the images.

  21. greensilencio

    that’s amazing, i really like nature and also biking.

  22. Wonderful, warm exploration of Nature…
    F.

  23. Wow i love all this awesome animal photography thanks for share this with us.
    nice blog.
    keep it up.

  24. Linda, the photos are so stunning!
    I love the place of New Mexico..

  25. wow , it’s look like great , thanks for post !!

  26. Good Stuff!!
    Congo on the Freshly Pressed.

  27. Great Photos! These are great wild photo’s. I must commend you for doing a good job capturing them on camera.

  28. It’s so good to know that people still rides bicycles. There’s simply so much to see and learn when on a bike that one can not see and learn when in a motor vehicle. Super post!

  29. Wonderful, warm exploration of Nature …
    They’re so cute!!!!

  30. sayitinasong

    Amazing pictures, especially of the lizard… it is so well camouflaged on the tree it is almost a part of it!

  31. Cool web site, I hadn’t noticed photoflurries.wordpress.com previously during my searches!
    Continue the superb work!

  32. Hi there, I am a cyclist too, and have recently started to take my little point and shoot along.
    Tonite I clicked on nature and there you were, very nice post.
    My last few posts might interest you, birds, cycling, etc. hope you can stop by.
    earthquakesandrattlesnakes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

